I told you so…











{November 11, 2008}   Wow jews and how they can be SO POSITIVE

I found this oped on some jew site just look at how this guy just looks at Obamas lack of everything as a good thing just bc he has hope…

lol i think its great

by Rabbi Yisroel Bernath – Spiritual Director of Chabad of NDG and Loyola Campus

For the past few days, my world has been saturated with the news of President-Elect Barack Obama. Most of the statements I have heard were very negative or very positive – not much in the middle. Surprisingly, however, both extremes followed a similar theme: “It’s the end of the world as we know it.”

As a Chabad Rabbi, my initial thoughts were against the President-Elect and much of his platform. Weighing his policy towards Israel, a land dear to myself and my brethren, and envisioning a world gone mad held in the palm of his hand, truly pierced me to the core.

While I am trying to find a glimmer of hope and comfort amidst the turmoil, millions are dancing, parading, and speaking of a new world. I am a believer and I am all for hope. But is there really anything left to believe in? What is the message?

The Previous Lubavitcher Rebbe frequently said, “think good and it will be good”. The Lubavitcher Rebbe expounded on this, “A person’s bitachon – the absolute assurance and conviction that G-d will make things good – becomes the conduit and vessel which draws down G-d’s blessings. Thus, positive thinking is much more than a method for weathering negative occurrences; it actually makes positive results happen.”

Now I can see how Obama’s win is good. He has rallied a nation to believe again. People have hope and conviction that tomorrow will be better despite the current terrible state of things. What gives me the right to snub the spirit of jubilation and goodness with my negative feelings just because I don’t like the political agenda? Who gives me the power to smash the walls of positive thinking?

In addition to adding positive actions to the world, we have a duty to supply positive thoughts and words as well. We have the power to change our reality. We have the power to bring about something so powerful that negative forces will run for their lives. And we can do it with our thoughts alone.

We are on the brink of change. All we have to do is have faith. I firmly believe that G-d would never do something which isn’t absolute good. There is only good and potential good – nothing else.

So, to those who support our President-Elect, congratulations and keep up your joy and good spirits, good things are on the way. To those who don’t support him, I urge you to think good and speak good. Whatever is about to happen over the next few days, weeks, months or years is not in your control. Let G-d handle it. He’s got it covered. He knows what is truly right.

Good thoughts, good words, and good deeds.

Not only is that “Change We Can Believe In”, that’s “Change We Need!” and “Yes We Can!”

Leave a Reply

et cetera
